Calder Cannons

The Calder Cannons entered AFL Victoria’s Under 18 competition in 1995 and were based alongside the Coburg Football Club at Coburg City Oval until 2011, when they moved to Highgate Reserve in Craigieburn.

The clubs have always been linked as aligned clubs, and Coburg FC has always valued the link between the two clubs.

The partnership creates football opportunities for graduating 18/19 year old’s that miss out in AFL drafts. The two clubs also share the same goal of developing elite football talent within the Moreland, Hume, Moonee Valley. Brimbank & Macedon Shire areas in Melbourne’s North Western Suburbs and aim to provide a smooth transition from Calders boys and girls programs to Coburg’s Men’s and Women’s programs.

Current Coburg Lions players that are former Calder Cannons are:
Jesse Corigliano, Mitch Podhajski, Tye Browning, Jackson McDonald, Ben Overman, Ben Reddick & Josh Guthrie.

Notable former Coburg FC players that joined from the Calder Cannons include Adam Saad & Luke Ryan.

In previous seasons, the likes of Ben Ronke & Reilly O’Brien have all had the opportunity to represent the Coburg Football Club as a 23rd man. These opportunities would be vital in giving them the chance to live out their dream of playing AFL.

To find out more about the Calder Cannons and their programs for boys and girls, please click here