Coburg FC 2019 AGM Results

From left to right- Board Member Tim Martin, 2020 President Matt Price, Board Member John Alducci, 2020 Vice President Dario Ascenzo, outgoing President Kevin Breen, Board Member Kerin Lawson and Treasurer Steve Russo Absent from photo: Board Member Alex Sapurmas.

On Monday night, in the club’s Piranha Park social club, the Coburg Football Club held it’s 2019 Annual General Meeting.  The event was the final official event at the home of our football club for the best part of the next 18 months as the redevelopment and facility upgrade gets underway in the new year.


The night was opened by the official welcome and reading of reports written by the club’s President Kevin Breen, Treasurer Steve Russo and General Manager Sebastian Spagnuolo.


The financial report from Treasurer Steve Russo was the standout report with the club posting it’s first operating profit of slightly more than $10,000 for the 2019 financial year, a tremendous effort given the consecutive losses that the club has suffered in recent years.


Outgoing President Kevin Breen spoke of his 5 year tenure as President of the club with great pride and wished the incoming President and Board all the very best whilst explaining that he’ll still be involved with fundraising efforts for the club.


General Manager Sebastian Spagnuolo was thrilled with the posting of the profit for the club and  thanked all of 2019’s members, staff and volunteers and also gave great insight into the club’s 2020 season by explaining:

-9 Coburg FC home and 9 away games in 2020. 3 byes. Coburg play Sandringham, North Melbourne, Collingwood and Frankston twice.

-Highgate, Craigieburn and Ballarat are amongst the 2020 home game venues.

-VFL fixture to be announced within days.

-All staff roles for 2020 have been filled with the 2020 playing list almost complete.

-Membership and sponsorship growth in 2019 were key contributors to the posted profit and that we must continue to grow both revenue streams.

-Implored all Coburg FC members to help us become the most supported VFL standalone club by growing our record breaking 2019 membership base even further.


The Board of Directors were then announced for the 2020 season.  Matt Price is the club’s incoming President, Dario Ascenzo will hold the Vice-President role with Alex Sapurmas, Steve Russo, Tim Martin, John Alducci and Kerin Lawson to return as Board Members in 2020 with added responsibilities and new director portfolios.


Incoming President Matt Price has been a Board Member for 13 months and became involved with the football club as a club sponsor in 2018 via his business Saxon Lighting.


Matt now has a strong passion for the football club and is keen to continue to grow the football club into the future.


The 2020 Board of Directors were officially welcomed with a round of applause and are excited to be getting to work to steer the club’s future starting with the exciting 2020 season.


At the conclusion of the 2019 AGM, the crew from radio station 3WBC’s VFL commentary team awarded the Coburg FC canteen as the VFL’s 2019 canteen of the year, something that our canteen manager Doriana Pinazo and family are delighted to achieve.


Stay tuned to Coburg FC’s social media channels as further player recruitment, sponsorship announcements, fixture information and more is announced over the coming days.




To view the minutes of the AGM click here

To view Coburg’s 2019 Annual Report click here