J.J Liston Trophy Preview

First Year Player Marcus Lentini has had a standout season

Tonight the VFL holds it’s night of nights, the J.J Liston Trophy Awards Night.

The 2018 Peter Jackson VFL team of the year will also be announced along with the VFLW awards.

Coburg has a rich history of achievement on Liston Trophy night, in 2017 both Sean Gregory (full back) and Liam Hunt (interchange) were named in the team of the year and in 2016, Luke Ryan won the Fothergill- Round Medal for the best player under 24 years of age on his way to the AFL.

Our last Liston Trophy medallist was Ezra Poyas in 2001, before him it was Gary Sheldon in 1988 and Jim Sullivan in 1967.

Kristian Di Pasquale (2001) and Mark Porter (1995) also won the Fothergill-Round Medal whilst playing for Coburg.

Lochlan Dickson has made an immediate impact at VFL Level


For tonight’s 2018 edition, our leading contenders for votes will be 1st year sensations Marcus Lentini and Lochlan Dickson with Nick Mellington expected to poll well even though he’s ineligible to win due to suspension.

Jesse Corigliano and Harry Nolan join Lentini, Dickson and Mellington are our other team of the year candidates.

Stay tuned to twitter – @coburgfc tonight for Coburg FC’s Liston Trophy Night coverage and cheer on our Lions from wherever you are.





Luke Ryan being presented with his Fothergill-Round Medal by Barry Round

Coburg’s VFL 2015 Team of the Year Members Ozgur Uysal and Michael Hartley