The Coburg Football Club received a boost yesterday with Lion Marcus Lentini putting pen to paper to remain a Lion in 2020.

Lentini re-commits on the back of a 2ndplace finish in the 2019 Jim Sullivan Medal to go along with his joint win of the same award in 2018, the former Northern Knight is also already a 2 time VFL team of the Year player and 2019 The Terrace Player of the year winner.

When signing his new contract to remain a Lion, Marcus said “Coburg is home to me and I love the club so much. The club has given me every opportunity to play to my strengths since coming out of the NAB League.   I look back at my decision to join Coburg at the start of the 2018 season with great pride because had I joined a different club I may not have had the same opportunity to play games and put my best foot forward for the club”

“I feel strongly about the direction we’re headed as a club and playing group and with the upcoming redevelopment of our venue we all can’t wait to the be the first group of players to enjoy our new home once it’s complete.”

Whilst Marcus still harbours strong ambitions to play at the AFL level one day he went on to say “I want to get better as a player and I feel that at Coburg I can get the best out of myself and play a role for the team whilst being part of a more successful era for the club in the near future”


Marcus Lentini at Coburg


November -joins Coburg from the Northern Knights for a preseason trial

-December – signs first Coburg and VFL contract



-makes Coburg and VFL debut, plays every game in 2018

-wins Jim Sullivan Medal as Coburg’s Best and Fairest

-leading disposal winner in VFL

-leading clearance winner in VFL

-leading contested possession winner in VFL

-VFL Team of the Year representative

-Phil Cleary Rising Star award winner



-plays every game in 2019

-2ndplace finish in Jim Sullivan Medal

-leading disposal winner in VFL

-leading contested possession winner in VFL

-2ndin VFL for clearances

-VFL team of the year representative

-Re-commits to Coburg for 2020

-Shortlisted for the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal

-The Terrace Supporter Group Player of the year