Strathmore Community Bank Branch Coburg FC Team Selection for Round 18 against Werribee


Coming off the back of a bye last weekend, Coburg has selected its 27-man squad to take on fellow standalone club Werribee in White Ribbon Round this Saturday at Piranha Park.

Sean Gregory is the only confirmed in so far, returning from an injury that saw him sit one game out.

Vice-captain Nathan Blair and hard-working Josh Guthrie join Gregory in the back-line, with small forwards Billy Cannolo, Sam Lowson and Hish Kerbatieh to start at the opposite end of the ground.

New signing Billy Kanakis from VAFA side St Kevin’s has also been named on the extended interchange, meaning he could potentially play his debut VFL match.

Josh Fox, Jackson McDonald, Jay O’Donoghue, Mitch Conn, Mark Kovacevic, Adam Swierzbiolek and Lachlan Watkins make up the remainder of the bench, with all eight players pushing for those final four spots in the side.

Brad Bernacki has been named the 23rdman for the fourth and final time this season.

The match, which will also be televised from 2pm on Saturday on Channel 7, will be one of the first VFL games to trial proposed rule changes.

These rule adjustments include the nine-metre goalsquare extended to 18 metres long, and the introduction of starting positions at each centre bounce; also known as the 6-6-6 rule.

The team will be finalised closer to game-day, but see the graphic below for the full squad.