Coburg FC’s 2023 VFL Men’s preseason kicked off with much excitement on November 14th 2022 and there were many new faces out on the track.

The Men’s team’s preseason is based at RMIT Bundoora and the team is enjoying training on a fantastic playing surface and the full sized oval befitting of the VFL standard. The hiring of the facility comes at a hefty price but the club feels confident that the investment will reap rewards for the team.  We also thank both Concept Logistics and Rent 4 Keeps for assisting the club by becoming our official preseason partners for 2023.

Out on the track, at each session there are upto 60 players that are working hard to prepare for the 2023 season.  33 of those players have already been contracted for the 2023 season and the remaining players have been invited to trial and earn one of the remaining list spots.

New team Captain Jesse Corigliano enters the preseason once again as the longest serving player at the club. Jesse began his Coburg FC journey in November 2014 and has gone on to play 80 Senior games, become Captain of the club and is our reigning Jim Sullivan Medallist as Best and Fairest in 2022.

Ryan Exon (106 VFL games), Harry Nolan (54) and Vice Captain Mitch Podhajski (53) are the other returning players that offer experience to the list.  On 35 and 38 games respectively, Luke Nelson and Vice Captain Nathan Boucher are both also set to join the 50 VFL game club in 2023.

24 of the 33 currently contracted players were listed with Coburg in 2022 with 9 already announced new players too such as Max Kennedy and Adam Carafa from Collingwood VFL, Kyle Weightman and Max Simpson from Essendon VFL, Charlie Beasley from Box Hill and Nic Quigg who was the Murray Bushrangers Captain in 2022.

In the new year, the club will make further list announcements.

With the excitement of new arrivals, there’s also the news of player departures which unfortunately has become par for the course in the modern day VFL and with that said, the club wishes to advise members of the departure of Luke Bunker.

Luke joined the club for the 2017 season following a 2016 year with the Northern Knights and Victoria Metro Under 18 team that saw him marked as a draft prospect.

After an outstanding season, undoubtedly his best at the level, Luke won the Coburg FC Best and Fairest in 2021. Luke was also a member of the leadership group on multiple occasions.

In 2022, Luke battled fitness issues and a form slump, managing only 8 games.

In all, Luke played 56 games and kicked 11 goals for Coburg and has made the decision to retire from the demands of VFL football.

Joining Luke in departing the club are Charlie Thompson who has left Coburg FC and the VFL and has headed to the Perth Football Club in Western Australia. Edyn Sibbald has called time on his VFL career to pursue greater work opportunities and following repeated concussions in his career, Sam McLarty has decided to step away from football for 2023.  The club wishes these four players all the best and highly values their time with the club.

2023 VFL Mens List Update:

Re-signed from 2022 (24):

Luke Nelson, Jesse Corigliano, Flynn Gentile, Ryan Exon, Harry Nolan, Josh D’Intinosante, Ryan Sturgess, Mitch Podhajski, Braedyn Gillard, Aaron Clarke, Nathan Boucher, Jhye Baddeley-Kelly, Tom McKenzie, Ben Jepson, Josh Watson, Lachlan Walker, Harry Andronaco, Jonathan Marsh, Alex Lukic, Ben Reddick, Tom Jepson, Trent Warren, Josh Kemp, Max Thompson.

New (9):

Kyle Weightman (Essendon VFL/Strathmore), Charlie Beasley (Box Hill/Old Trinity), Liam Podhajski (Northern Bullants), Jackson Bowne (Richmond VFL/Bundoora), Max Kennedy (Collingwood VFL/Old Brighton), Max Simpson (Essendon VFL/Aberfeldie), Adam Carafa (Collingwood VFL/Banyule), Aaron Gundry (Carlton VFL/Avondale Heights) Nic Quigg (Murray Bushrangers/Seymour).

Out: (18):

Sam Lowson (North Melbourne VFL), Tom Silvestro (retired from VFL), Luke Bunker (retired from VFL), Peter McEvoy (retired from VFL), Corey Ellis (retired from VFL), Jack Maibaum (Claremont, WA), Edyn Sibbald (retired from VFL), Sam McLarty (retired from VFL), Adam Swierzbiolek (retired from VFL), Charlie Thompson (Perth, WA), Daniel Guccione (delisted), Dylan Thomas (delisted), Ben Overman (delisted), Bailey Ryan (delisted), Liam Whelan (delisted), Riley Mason (delisted), Nathan Howard (delisted), Macgregor Cameron (delisted).

With 33 contracted players for 2023, there will be upto 11 exciting and new player signings announced in the coming weeks and in the leadup to the very exciting 2023 VFL season.

To do your part and enter #LionMode in 2023, please become a member today. Click here https://coburgfc.com.au/club/membership/membership-2023/ to become a Coburg FC member.