By Ali Taleb

Earlier this week the Coburg Football Club finalised it’s 45 man playing list for the upcoming 2019 VFL season.

The list was rounded out with the signing of Kane Noonan (Moorolbark), Floyd Bollinghaus (Murray Bushrangers), Will Donaghey (Wodonga Raiders) and returning player Sam Binion.

The club is very excited about it’s list for the season which was shaped by the club’s coaching staff led by Senior Coach Leigh Adams.

“We identified really early the type of player that we wanted to bring into our football club” Adams said.

“A lot of the focus has been on bringing in players that we see can grow and develop into becoming comfortable and good players for the club but also good people that will help set a great culture for the club over the coming years” Adams added.

Adams went on to say “Our average age across the 45 players has rose to 21 years old (up from 20 in 2018) and we’ve been able to add players that have played a lot of senior local football which should accelerate their ability to play VFL football against the bigger bodies.  We’re really excited about the list and what it can achieve in 2019.”

The club looks forward to playing on Piranha Park for the first time in a practice match on Saturday March 30th vs Frankston at 12.30pm.

Coburg will then kick off its 2019 season against VFL heavyweight Collingwood at Piranha Park 6th of April at 2pm and the club encourages all new and returning members to pack the terraces and cheer on our Lions in 2019.

To join the pride of Lions by becoming a 2019 member, please head to and review the options available.

The 2019 Coburg FC Player list

  1. Jack Murphy
  2. Jesse Corigliano (Vice Capt)
  3. Josh Weightman
  4. Sam Lowson (Dep Vice Capt)
  5. Ryan Exon (Co-Capt)
  6. Harry Nolan
  7. Tyson Lever
  8. Alex Federico
  9. Brodie Foster
  10. Mitch Podhajski (Dep Vice Capt)
  11. Luke Bunker (Vice Capt)
  12. Peter McEvoy (Co-Capt)
  13. Braedyn Gillard
  14. Steven Stroobants
  15. Lucas Cavallaro
  16. Jack Baker
  17. Lochlan Dickson
  18. Harry Simington
  19. Jack Evans
  20. Xavier Fry
  21. Tom Meagher
  22. Adam Swierzbiolek
  23. Jackson McDonald
  24. Fletcher Carroll
  25. Aidan Tilley
  26. Lachlan Watkins
  27. Sam Binion
  28. Kane Noonan
  29. Mark Baker
  30. Jay O’Donoghue
  31. Will Donaghey
  32. Billy Cannolo
  33. Ben Reddick
  34. Jonty Neaves
  35. Liam Whelan
  36. Josh Guthrie
  37. Hedley Smith
  38. Tyson Old
  39. Mo Saad
  40. Tom Simpson
  41. Matthew Harman
  42. Marcus Lentini
  43. Floyd Bollinghaus
  44. Luke Di Lizio
  45. Jack Sandric

*Josh Fox is a contracted Coburg FC player, but due to a knee reconstruction Josh has not been listed in season 2019, the club however is fully committed to Josh’s recovery and we hope to see him representing the Lions in 2020.

Click HERE for the full 2019 List.

This story was first released in our Subscribers Exclusive Newsletter, “The Roar.” Stay tuned for more news throughout the season by subscribing to The Roar HERE, where you can get all the Exclusive News, and up to date information during the 2019 season.

Ali Taleb is in his first year of his Bachelor of Business (Sports Management/Communications) degree at Latrobe University. The Coburg Football club is in a position to offer opportunities like the one Ali has taken. They are committed to educate our next generation of football leaders.